Unexpected answer to unspoken prayers . . .

Up this way we have an event called Souled Out and every year in October they run a weekend of events called Encounter. These are some of the highlights of my year – I’ll never forget the first one I went to – I couldn’t believe that there were that many Christians in the city!! I love that so many people from different backgrounds and denominations can come together, simply as God’s children, and worship Him.

Last week a friend had a conversation with a friend about the existance of God and invited him along to Encounter. She then challenged me that I should ask along a certain friend of mine. I actually laughed out loud at the ridiculousness of the suggestion. As far as I was concerned there was no way my friend would agree, we never speak about religion or faith any more and I was convinced she didn’t care in the slightest.

Today in English though she picked up my bookmark with a bible verse on it and we started talking favourite verses. The other girl at our table quickly got involved in the conversation and eventually it turned into a class discussion. As we walked to our next class i asked if she’d ever thought about going back to church (she stopped a few years ago) and she said she’d wondered about it when they got a new minister. I asked why she didn’t just come along to St.C’s (my church) but she said it was too wierd because it was very much my church and she was the tag along. Then i asked if she’d want to come to Souled Out in a few weeks time and she was really enthusiastic!! Who knew?!? She said she had really enjoyed it last time and might be up for it again 🙂 So, I’m going to pray lots and in a couple of weeks will remind her again. 

I didn’t pray about this. To be honest, the idea never crossed my mind. But I suspect my friend was. Either way God just did some amazing things!!

1 thought on “Unexpected answer to unspoken prayers . . .

  1. Pingback: God hears « rach’s blog

Leave a comment