Incarnational Ministry

I’m reading “Sub-merge” by John Hayes at the moment, all about incarnational ministry amongst the poor.

Jesus Himself had an incarnational ministry: “The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us” (John 1:14) and He expects us to do the same: “As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world” (John 17:18). Jesus asks us to go out into the world, not to sit in our safe houses of security and comfort. Hayes says this:

The world doesn’t need more words, not even more “right” words. The world needs more words made flesh. The world needs more people to live the good news incarnationally, in a way that can be seen, heard and handled.

Paul also speaks about how he got alongside people in order to share the Gospel in 1 Corinthians 8:

20To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. 21To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. 22To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. 23I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

I think it all speaks for itself really 🙂

Leave a Reply

