Esther 6 & 7

Tonight Louis preached from Esther 6 & 7 about how God used apparently insignificant circumstances to save Mordecai and the Jewish race. King Xerxes (what a name!) just happened to be unable to sleep so asked for his history book to be read. In reading it, he realised he’d never rewarded Mordecai for saving his life. And, right at that moment, who should enter the palace court than the guy who wants to kill Mordecai – Haman (boo! hissss . . . it is panto season after all 😛 ). It all led to a banquet where the King gave Esther her one wish and she was able to save the Jews.

Xerxes could have counted sheep, taken a walk or drank some warm milk in order to try and get to sleep. Haman could have been off killing innocent people elsewhere. Mordecai probably hadn’t thought anything of the assassination plot he had foiled five years previously in ages. But God used each and every “coincidence” in His plan.

Romans 8: 28 – “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them”

God is present in every event, every choice, every single tiny little thing we do. God is in control.

Louis shared much of his own story about God being there in the ordinary stuff, and how he was able with hindsight to see where God had been acting. It made me think about all the little things that have brought me to where I am today and are sending me where I’m going. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’ve worried that I’ve made the wrong decisions but tonight I was encouraged that even if I have, God is in control and will use it for good.

Leave a Reply

