So there was this woman called Deborah . . .

. . . and she was a prophet who was judging Israel (Judges 4:4).

I think she might be my new hero.

For a very simple reason. She’s a woman, leading God’s people.

I’m not going to explain everything, it’s too complicated and boring, but last September Louis preached on women leading in the church from 1 Timothy 2:11 “Women should learn quietly and submissively. 12 I do not let women teach men or have authority over them. Let them listen quietly. 13 For God made Adam first, and afterward he made Eve. 14 And it was not Adam who was deceived by Satan. The woman was deceived, and sin was the result. 15 But women will be saved through childbearing, assuming they continue to live in faith, love, holiness, and modesty.” And basically came to the conclusion that, well, they shouldn’t. 

It left me completely up a creek, without a paddle. (love that phrase, by the way).

I had thought that church ministry and leadership was where I was headed. I’d read this passage and the one in Corinthians (1 Corinthians 14:34-35) with a  similar message alot and really struggled with what they were saying. In all honesty, I’d hoped that Louis would explain it away and make everything easy and alright. Didn’t happen though. So I got very confused and was left feeling more than a little lost.

Ever since, I’ve kind of just been waiting around for new inspiration as to what God wanted me to do with my life. And I was happy to wait a good while longer. I figured, I’ve got uni sorted, that’s four years of life, fours years to figure it out. Easy.

But now, well, Deborah was a woman. That’s . . . an important discovery for me I feel. One I’m going to have to bare in mind. Because I haven’t given up on those old dreams, I’ve just become very good at supressing them. We’ll just have to wait and see where God leads.

One thought on “So there was this woman called Deborah . . .

  1. Pingback: Just when I got my hopes up « rach’s blog

Leave a Reply

