Day 1 of Lent

Well, it wasn’t too bad!

Getting up at half six yesterday morning was difficult, almost as difficult as staying awake whilst praying. It probably wasn’t helped by my waking twice in the middle of the night but I now know for sure that I am not a morning person.

In the mornings I use a little book I picked up whilst at Pluscarden Abbey called A Time for Prayer, published by the Liturgy Office of the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales. It has a a Psalm for everyday, a little piece of Scripture for reflection, the Gospel Canticles for different times of the day and a concluding prayer for each day is given too. It’s quite Catholic, with the “Glory Be’s . . .” etc. but I like it and it helps me focus when really my brain isn’t up to the job.

Then I had my English exam. First paper was fine, helped I kind of knew what the essay question would be so was more prepared than I should have been with the miniscule amount of revision I did. Second paper was not so great – I totally misjudged the amount of time I had so I rushed to write my essay, not including as much detail as I should have or covering as many points, and ended up with twenty odd minutes to spare in which I could have written a far better essay. Oops. I’ll just have to hope it all balances out.

Got home later than expected but did take my half hour out to pray. I really don’t want to just come to God with a shopping list three times a day because it’s really about taking time out to spend with Him and listen to Him. I’m a very visual person so, despite my complete lack of artistic ability, I like drawing when I’m praying. So I did some of that yesterday. Maybe some day I’ll get round to posting some of the stuff I’ve done. I was also thinking yesterday, as I so often (probably too often) do, of the future. *dun dun dun*. Because it’s all a bit unknown to me. Other than uni I have no plans. However, I really felt that God was saying that’s how it has to be just now. I have to take it all one step at a time and trust in Him to reveal the next one when the time is right. 

The timetable I posted then said I was going to study. You probably won’t be surprised to hear that I didn’t. Instead I had a wonderfully lazy afternoon watching Step Up, good easy watching.

I didn’t cook dinner either. Very lazy day.

Last night though I did finally open my Wayne Grudem Systematic Theology beast of a textbook and was learning all about the Canon of the Old Testament Scripture. Fascinating but very complicated and brain taxing stuff.

And then last night I prayed more Lectio Divina style – slow, contemplative and prayerful reading of the scriptures.

So, one day down, many to go. We’ll see how long this 6.30 am thing lasts.

Leave a Reply

