Pray for the city

I posted this verse from Jeremiah a wee while ago:

And work for the peace and prosperity of the city where I sent you into exile. Pray to the Lord for it, for its welfare will determine your welfare. 
(Jeremiah 29:7)

It has been thoroughly stuck in my head since and I think God’s saying something.

At first I just thought it was a great verse, one I’d remember and use in future when talking about praying for Aberdeen or something, but there’s more to it than that.

I was in Edinburgh last week, that city which, in 6 months/ 25 weeks, I’ll be “exiled” to. The city who’s welfare will determine my welfare. It’s about time I started praying, for Edinburgh itself and for whatever my life there will be.

Too often, prayer becomes a last minute – “oh I suppose I ought to . . .” – thing. We’ll make every other preparation necessary and then think about praying. Well I don’t want that to be the case with this. Now is the time to pray – not the month, week or day before, but now.

And less, “do I really have to go”, more “what do you me to do when I get there”. Less, “I can’t leave them behind”, more “look after them when I do”. 

Time to pray for the city I’ll soon call home.

Leave a Reply

