Obsession

If you haven’t already noticed I am completely, totally and utterly obsessed with facebook and twitter. And it’s gotten a heck of a lot worse in the past month. It’s got to the point where the very last thing I do at night and the very first thing I do in the morning, from the comfort of my bed, is check my facebook and twitter accounts. It’s so bad now that I think in terms of status updates – if something, anything, happens my first reaction is to turn it into a 140 character phrase that I could post. 

It’s pretty obvious to me and everyone I know that I spend a lot of time on these things but I haven’t particularly thought of it as dangerous until now. Anne Jackson has been posting some challenging stuff about our use (and abuse) of facebook/ twitter/ blogs and the restrictions she has decided to implement in her own “online” life. When I woke up this morning, whilst still in bed and having already checked facebook and twitter, I read her post “Are you an addict?”. It hit home, to say the least.

I don’t want my life to revolve around facebook and twitter. I don’t want these to be my first and last thoughts of the day. I don’t want to measure my life in status updates! I want God to be the thing that all else revolves around. I want Him to be to be the thing that my thoughts are consistantly directed towards. I want to be eager to spend time with Him and not checking what my friends are thinking. 

So, this morning I deleted the facebook and twitter apps from my iPod. In five minutes I will post a link to this post in my facebook status and that will be the last time I log in until next Monday. Also until then, no more tweeting for me, except prayers for Holiday Club. Email and blogs will still be on the go, for now at least. Then on Monday I will revisit the situation, decide if my head is any clearer, my heart in a better place, and if I need to put some on-going boundaries in place.

This actually makes me anxious.

I’m going to have to make the effort to speak to people by other means for a weak, instead of assuming I know how they are. Ensuring people are alive is going to take more effort than just seeing if they’ve done anything on facebook in the past couple of days. Instead of wasting hours a day, essentially doing nothing, on facebook I get to read and study.

This may all sound ridiculous and over-exaggerated but you’re just going to have to trust me that it’s as serious as I say.

Here we go . . .

Leave a Reply

