My Sister’s Keeper

I really really want to tell you all about this book but I’m aware some of you will want to go and see the film at the cinema so I won’t give too much away.

I will say though that you have got to read the book, whether you see the film version or not. I’ve just watched the trailer and can already see lots of things they’ve changed. It is such a  powerful story which I think will definitely be best portrayed in writing.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been hooked on a book but I haven’t been able to put this one down over the past few days. It’s the story of a family who’s eldest daughter has leukemia and who had a second daughter, who was genetically engineered to be a perfect match for her sister. But, after 13 years of operations, when Kate goes into renal failure and Anna is expected to donate a kidney, she decides to sue her parents for medical emancipation – the right to make her own decisions concerning her body.

It’s heart wrenching – morality and ethics get all mixed up when it comes to saving the life of someone you love. As the “right” choices are sought, this terminal illness tears a family apart. Can a judge and a legal ruling really heal that?

I haven’t cried like I did today for quite some time – it is so engaging and, even if you’re fortunate enough to never have seen a loved one seriously ill or die, we all know the reality of the fear of such events.

Read the book – I’ll lend it to you. Then tell me when you’re free to come see the film.

3 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper

  1. I’m a HUGE Picoult fan, have almost read all of hers – how into them are you? I can lend you many… This one is actually one of my least favourite, but I still want to see the film, just to see how they do it and probably complain it was nowhere near as good as the book! Lets go see it! – when’s it out? x

    • this is the first one i’ve read – under mother’s instruction before we go see the film.
      i expect i’ll do much the same – it came out today
      xxx

  2. What can I say? the movie is so, so good BUT it could have been the Picture of the year if they hadn’t BOTCHED the ending…by changing what happened in the book they took all the wind out of its sails, screwed the “message” and destroyed what would have been Jodi’s ultimate message, how the little sister was ULTIMATELY her sister’s keeper, Instead…the ever-steepening crescendo that the movie built up so well is washed ashore in a totally inane ending. My message is to read the book, perhaps the best I have ever read. Then you’ll cry twice at the movies..once for the wonderful acting and story-telling, again (however) for the loss for what would have been a GREAT ending!

Leave a Reply

