Fresher’s Week

I can’t believe it’s been a week already, though it does feel that I’ve been here far longer.

It’s been a crazy week. Completely mental. I have enjoyed it so much more than I ever expected to and just hope the rest of uni is as much fun.

The main thing I was worried about before I left was the reputation Fresher’s Week has for being all about alcohol and partying. Well, it lived up to it’s reputation and most of my corridor mates have thoroughly enjoyed all that. However, turns out I’m not the only one who doesn’t like getting wasted or clubbing or staying out until 4am – and, yes, I know it was stupid of me to ever think that I might be. But I’ve had a great time with folk who like a wee trip to the pub or the comedy show or seeing live bands.

I’ve probably met more people in the last week than I will at any point in the rest of my life. I remember some of their names, though not as many as I’d like. People from all over the world, from all kinds of backgrounds and studying all kinds of things. I’m told some of these people will be lifelong friends, a bit of a scary thought at the moment but kind of cool too.

I’ve been to workshops on theatre tech and will be signing up for the fresher’s play tomorrow. I’ve been to drumming workshops and will be at their meeting on Monday night. I’ve learned how the New College library works. I’ve met with my director of studies. I’ve been to reggae barbecues. I’ve climbed Arthur’s Seat. I’ve been to ceilidhs and music gigs and comedy gigs and pubs. I’ve walked miles. I’ve bought books. I’ve gotten lost and taken others with me. I’ve been woken at 4am 3/4 times. I’ve watched the sunrise. I’ve avoided fresher’s flu.

It’s been quite a week.

And, in it all, God has been with me. He’s given me courage and boldness; friends and support; blessings that overflow.

I do miss home. I miss my family and friends. The fact that a whole week has gone reminds me how many more I have to go.

But now the real work starts. I’ve lots of reading to do and only four weeks until my first essay is due. Here we go.

CU Fresher's Ceilidh

CU Fresher's Ceilidh

Leave a Reply

