New tactic

So, it’s the beginning of week ten in Edinburgh, there are only four to go until Christmas, and I’m still church searching.

New tactics required.

No more “what do I want from church?”

No more “does the worship/preaching/people/outreach suit me?”

No more “what if there’s something better out there?”

No more waiting for writing in the sky, neon signs or butterflies in my tummy.

No more.

New question:

Where am I needed?

Romans 12:6-8 Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching; the one who exhorts, in his exhortation; the one who contributes, in generosity; the one who leads, with zeal; the one who does acts of mercy, with cheerfulness.

I have gifts.

Some church, somewhere, needs them.

Which one?

3 thoughts on “New tactic

  1. Funny things churches. I used to look for one where I could “be useful” but in the event I got stressed and depressed so often that I wasn’t any use. When I was in a church where I was in a sense “purely decorative” I felt so much better without the pressure to “contribute”. I was able to volunteer much more. It’s much easier to “just do such-and-such” because it needs done than to “sign up for the such-and-such rota” and feel you’re letting the side down if you fail. Hoping to go to the theology lecture tonight. Will you be at that?

Leave a Reply

