Bibles and the AGM

Last night was the AGM of the Edinburgh University Student’s Association.

Six to seven hundred students filled two lecture theatres, linked via the interwebs, to discuss some pretty controversial issues and vote on motions about them.

Last night’s agenda included:

  • Bibles in halls of residence
  • Energy Efficient student housing
  • A no platform policy to ban the BNP
  • Boycott of Israel
  • Banning cigarette sales from EUSA outlets
  • Stopping EUSA staff and representatives from travelling by plane

The main reason I was there was the bible one.

A few years ago EUSA stopped Gideon’s from placing Bibles in Pollock Halls and this motion wanted to reverse that, on the grounds of religious tolerance, freedom of speech and the general goodness/usefulness of the Bible.

I would love to see Bibles in every room in Pollock. I think it would be a brilliant thing, even if it drew just one person a tiny little bit closer to God. I disagree with the arguments against it put forward by those I know: that it is an invasion of privacy (you don’t like it, stick it under your bed), a waste of resources (people knowing God is priceless – humanly speaking), etc. etc.

I was all set to vote in favour, obviously. But as people spoke about it and I read the motion itself more closely, I began to question my resolve. One point in the motion says this:

 

“That any group or society representing any particular point of view who wish to provide
literature to be placed in every room in Pollock should be allowed to do so providing the
books are made available freely at their own expense.”
I can’t agree with that.
I don’t want any group to be able to put stuff into Pollock. I don’t want those who are wrong to be able to put stuff into the hands of students.
Of course I want the truth of God’s Word in there but I don’t want the other rubbish this would pave the way for.
I couldn’t vote in favour. I couldn’t vote against. I abstained.
And I feel terrible. Like I betrayed a lot of people. I guess I post this by way of explanation, apology and to make myself feel better. I’m sorry I couldn’t raise my hand.
The motion didn’t pass, by quite a significant majority.
I’m sorry.
Did I do the right thing?

 

One thought on “Bibles and the AGM

  1. I agree with your decision Vicky on the following point.
    That any group or society representing any particular point of view who wish to provide
    literature to be placed in every room in Pollock should be allowed to do so providing the
    books are made available freely at their own expense.”
    I can’t agree with that.
    I don’t want any group to be able to put stuff into Pollock. I don’t want those who are wrong to be able to put stuff into the hands of students.
    You have a NOTICE board and anyone wanting to borrow or posses a bible should be able to contact you. There are plenty of bibles available let me know and I will give you a bag of them.

Leave a Reply

