Exams

These last two weeks have been all about exams for everyone at Edinburgh Uni. I have my last one tomorrow!!

For many of us they are the first university exams we’ve ever sat and, despite the pleas of those who are older and wiser, some have been taking them very seriously.

As I stood outside my exam room last week, waiting to go in, a friend from my tutorial group arrived looking more than a little stressed. I tried to reassure her that it would be absolutely fine. She asked if I was a Christian and I said yes. And she said, “Christians are always more chilled about these things!”

It was kind of ironic because my friend, who is a Christian, was standing beside me shaking like a leaf and completely freaking out!

I thought it was really interesting though that she had picked up on that and it made me wonder why we are so often worrying and stressing over stuff like this.

My friend keeps reminding me of Philippians 4:6-7, do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

So we keep praying. And still some friends are freaking out.

The thing that keeps me calm is this:

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. – John 15:13-15

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:38

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. – 2 Corinthians 12:9

Jesus is my friend.

Nothing can separate me from his love.

His grace is sufficient.

All these truths will stand whether I pass with distinction or fail miserably.

And that is all that matters.

So whether it is exams or something else, lets not worry but let people see that we have a God who is bigger than it all and that we can rest in the assurance of his love and faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

