Brett

This evening I met a homeless man called Brett. I’ve seen him before, almost everyday I walk past him on the way to lectures as he sits outside Tesco, but tonight I stopped to talk to him.

His story was quite amazing, full of pain and sadness, but also some hope in him having become a Christian in recent months, started going to church and recently getting in touch with his family again. We spoke for five minutes or so and then, in front of the doors of Tesco, I was privileged to be able to pray with him.

Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ – Matt 25:40

The toffee apple bakewells (his request) which I bought for him were nothing compared to the blessing and challenge he was for me tonight. It’s true what they say about seeing Jesus in those you least expect too and being blessed when you’re the one trying to be a blessing.

He has faith in the face of real adversity, hardship I can’t even imagine. He’s led a difficult life but lives in faith in God’s redemptive power. He needs what I could afford to throw away.

I walk past him, and many others like him, everyday. Jesus loves them all. Jesus would stop for each of them.

The world casts a huge chasm between us – rich and poor, educated and uneducated, safe and vulnerable. But tonight I was praying with a brother in Christ. A brother loved as I am loved. A brother worth as much as I am worth. We are not so different – any set of circumstances could have led to us being in opposite positions – God sees us just the same.

Hebrews 13:2 “some have entertained angels unawares

One thought on “Brett

  1. Rach, your blog has been a huge encouragement and challenge to me lately. It’s great to see you grappling with the call Jesus gives each one of us to serve the poor, I know it’s a burden God has placed on your heart.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about this and have been inspired by you to sponsor a wee boy in Bolivia (Edward, he’s 3!).
    What a blessing to find Jesus in unlikely people and places; I’ll be praying for Brett, and Enrique, and for you as you strive to give everything to Jesus. Maybe you can pray for me as I try by His grace to do the same! I’m always blown away by how much Jesus has done for me, and he keeps reminding me that anything I give back to Him is nothing in comparison, and came from him anyway!

    Hope you’re well and enjoying life. Blessings.
    F

    XX

Leave a Reply

