Saving the planet . . .

. . . one bicycle ride at a time.

Every summer I tell myself I’m going to use my time to exercise and, finally, be fit and healthy, just like the days of my youth!

This summer was no different but there is a problem with this plan: I’m lazy and don’t like exercise much.

However, BP has provided me with a new and better incentive than simply wanting to fit into that pair of jeans again.

Call me a hippie all you want but there’s a heck of a lot of oil pouring into the ocean (or was, I’m not sure if their latest attempt to cap it has definitely worked or not) and it should be a reminder to us all that the this industry in which we’re so highly invested is fragile, finite and destroying our planet.

So the new aim is is to be able to sustainably survive without petrol by the end of the summer!!

YAY!!

Or perhaps more accurately without petrol within reasonable distances . . .

So maybe I haven’t quite figured out the intricacies of this new ethos, but the point is, as of Monday, I’ve started cycling!!

And I’m in pain.

Everywhere.

No pain no gain though? Right?

And today, I made it up the hill at the back of my house without have to stop to let my legs recover!! (Please, celebrate with me, it’s a genuine achievement!) It would appear, that after all these years of neglect/abuse, I have no muscles left. At least that’s how it feels. Painful.

It’s fun though. And it’s going to be worth it in the end.

So, here’s to saving the planet one cycle ride at a time!

Leave a Reply

