Fill My Horizon

Fill my horizon,

Lord of love

Still my eyes

On the King above.

Be my thought

By day and night

When eyelids shut,

Yet stay in sight.

Be my speech

Be my IQ.

You for me.

I for You.

Be my battleshield.

Be my sword.

Be my dignity

Be my reward.

Be my safehouse,

My basecamp strong.

Be my air-lift

With angel throng!

My body’s balm,

My spirit’s health,

Be my regime

In heaven and earth.

Unto you alone

My heart shall cling.

None can dethrone

Heaven’s High King.

Before You request,

Let me donate

My food, my rest –

Your care is so great.

Of all I savour

Be supreme –

Above intimate favour,

Inanimate gleam.

Let me rue the day,

The lifetime too,

As a corpse in decay,

If You’re not in view.

In my soul Your touch,

In my heart Your love,

Bestow on me such,

King of heaven above.

Bestow on me such,

King of heaven above,

In my soul Your touch,

In my heart Your love.

With the King of All,

Tour of duty done,

Under heaven’s rule,

Under dazzling sun.

Dear Father, please,

(My SOS to You!)

This wretch’s release

Is now overdue!

Christ bless the days

Which face me still

Lord of earth and skies,

My horizon fill.

(Anon. c1000; originally Gaelic; basis for Be Thou My Vision)

Leave a Reply

