I need . . .

I need to be led by you.

I need my heart to be moved by you.

I need my soul to be made clean by your prayer.

I need my will to be made strong by you.

I need the world to be saved by you and changed by you.

I need you for all those who suffer, who are in prisonin dangerin sorrow.

I need you for all the crazy people.

I need your healing hands to work always in my life.

I need you to make me, as your Son, a healer, a comforter, a savior.

I need you to name the dead.

I need you to help the dying cross their particular river.

I need you for myself, whether I live or die.

I need to be your monk and your son.

It is necessary.

Amen.

(Thomas Merton, Journals, July 17, 1956, III46-47)

HT: Anne @ Flowerdust

Leave a Reply

