Growing

I said there was a second thing that I learned at Holiday Club this year, and this is it: God has done a mighty work in me!

Today, I’ve been a Christian for five years. That’s now more than a quarter of my life. Wowzers!! (Yes, I’m bringing “wowzers” back, I’m just that cool)

Holiday Club provided me with time to reflect on the change God has brought about in me and the way I’ve grown in the past five years.

If you had told me then, that I would lead an evening service, team devotions, speak at both youth cafe and in the parents tea room all in one week, I just wouldn’t have believed you. I was a petrified, self-conscious, shy fourteen year old who hid behind a hat. Generally, I’m still petrified and self-conscious (don’t think I can really say I’m all that shy any more!), but I know I have a God who overcomes that and uses me regardless.

I remember the first time I found out I was going to lead a Holiday Club group. It was less than a year since I became a Christian and I found out when I turned to that page of the leader’s pack at team meeting. I burst into tears. How could I possibly do this?! How could Tom and Sue possibly think it was a good idea?!! (I still haven’t answered that one). I spent that Holiday Club (and the following two as well) throwing up every morning, I was so scared. Now, I’m (almost) totally relaxed about the whole thing: it’s all in God’s hands and he’ll make it work out for his purpose and glory. And I know that I can lead a group because God’s given me the gifts and abilities it requires, he’s grown those in me.

I don’t know if anyone else has noticed but, even in the past year, I feel I’ve done a lot of growing. I feel more mature, more confident and more certain of my awesome God. I think I know better now who I am, who he has made me to be.

This also seems an appropriate day to tell the world that I’m getting baptised, full immersion stylee! Start of October some time, at church in Edinburgh. I think this is the right time and the right place for me to be doing it. I’ve been convinced for a long time that full immersion, adult baptism is what Scripture commands. My Christening as a baby will always be special to me but I do think that it is when you become a believer and repent that you are to be baptised. I would have done it years ago but re-baptism is a big no-no in the Church of Scotland and, to be honest, I’m really glad God’s kept me from doing it until now; I genuinely believe this is his timing. Now, it’s about me knowing what God is asking of me, understanding his call on my life, and declaring to him before the church that I leave the old life behind and fully embrace all he has planned for me.

I’ve done a lot of growing, these past five years, and there’s a lot more to go. But, as I said to the parents and youths last week, it’s the most exciting and fantastic adventure I could possibly hope for . . . all glory to God who has made it possible!!

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

(Philippians 1:6 ESV)
Leave a Reply

