Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

“An epic of epic epicness” about covers it to be honest.

Based on a graphic novel, this is definitely the geekiest film I’ve ever seen and if I didn’t have a geeky 17 year old brother, I don’t think I’d understand half of it. In fact, I’m sure there were a lot of references in there that I didn’t get! Regardless, it was funny and clever, and I thought it was great.

They’ve very cleverly included comic book style graphics into the movie. I haven’t read the books but I’m assuming it stays pretty true to what the artist uses there. The story also includes features from computer games, such as collecting coins when Scott Pilgrim kills a bad guy, or collecting health points and extra lives. It’s really funny/quirky/geeky.

The story is typical boy gets girl but with seven evil ex-es in the way. This means a lot of fight scenes, which I’m not such a huge fan of, but they are done quite well. I think a little less fighting and a little more story would have been good, but I guess you’re going to have trouble fitting 7 battles into two hours anyway.

I really enjoyed this. I think if you’re a little geeky and like quirky things/other films Michael Cera has been in then you’ll like this too. If you’re a 17 year old nerd, you’ll love it.

8 of 10 from me.

Leave a Reply

