Baptism (3)

It’s really, really, REALLY difficult to express what baptism and post-baptism was like.

As I said, I don’t remember much about giving my testimony. I have practised so many different versions of it, so many times in the past few weeks that I didn’t have to put much thought into what to actually say. The piece of paper in my hand was the version I came up with at 11:30 the night before and was pretty much what I said on the morning. Turned out the paper was a little surplus to requirement however! To those who were there: thanks for listening! To those who weren’t: you’ve probably heard the majority of it on here before anyway . . .

Then it was time to get dunked.

The water had (thankfully) cooled by this point and was actually a very lovely warm bath temperature. All I can remember thinking as I was going down into the water was that it wasn’t covering my face yet. I’m going way back and I’m still not totally under. How much further? Chin . . . cheeks . . . will I be able to get back up . . . nose . . . SURFACE! The video shows it took a total of two seconds. It felt waaay longer!

When I came up from the water, I had this huge desire to punch the air and celebrate!! The sheer joy that consumed me was just incredible. There aren’t really words. Euphoria might about cover it but I’m not sure even that is sufficient.

People brought some encouraging words and being prayed for afterwards was cool too. People are amazing. Not as a amazing as God but they’re pretty good. I’ve been a bit overwhelmed since by everyone’s response and kind words. I guess when it was such as awesome “God-and-I” thing it’s hard to understand how they can relate to it so well but I guess God was at work in lots of folks and not just me!

That feeling of joyfulness lasted all day. I couldn’t stop smiling. Again, words are rubbish, but my only way to say it is that I felt full. I don’t know what of: joy, peace, love, expectation, awe, I don’t know. But I felt full.

I still feel full (despite lectures and assignments attempts to squash it out of me) but at the same time empty. It’s like the slate has been wiped completely clean. Stuff I wanted to leave in the water is gone. The declaration I made about following God anywhere is true, I’ve let go of even those “Godly” plans I thought I had. Life is a blank canvas all over again. It’s like I really am a “new creation”. And I’ll be honest, it’s a bit of an odd feeling!

I’m never going to forget that day. I loved every second of it. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

