Many many memory verses

Did you ever do that thing as a child in Sunday School where you had to learn a verse of the Bible? I’ve  tried to learned and taught so many now that I’ve lost count. I’ve done them as puzzles, bursting balloons, pictograms, with songs and actions. Shame I don’t remember most of them!

A couple of weeks ago I went to see a “dramatic presentation” of the Books of Acts – from memory! That’s twenty-eight chapters and 1007 verses!

So we proposed a Christmas challenge for my church cell group: over the 3-week Christmas break, we’re attempting to learn the whole of the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5:3-7:27. A meagre 106 verses. Simples.

I’ve got to to chapter 5 verse 20.

There are some really great resources out there to help in memorising bible passages:

this guy memorised the sermon on the mount too – http://bit.ly/far9DY – hear him recite it and answer how he did it.

this article is really good: http://bit.ly/gKRw2b – a how-to on memorising scripture, good practice etc.

and here John Piper gives some advice on how to memorise scripture:http://bit.ly/h7MN4N

Finally, some scriptural inspiration that this is totally awesome!
“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” (John 15:7 ESV)

3 thoughts on “Many many memory verses

  1. No! I am suggesting you learn all of it. We just had to learn the correct answers but when you are 10/11 that’s quite a lot!

Leave a Reply

