SF2011: Summer of Service

So, now that I’m here I finally know what I’m doing!

I am part of a programme called Summer of Service. There are eight of us on the programme, plus three interns who are here to mentor us and four permanent staff members who are overseeing. We are living at the YWAM San Francisco base with a number of other permanent staff members.

In a week’s time, approximately 90 junior high and high school (age 14-18) kids will arrive for a week of mission. We’ll be leading and instructing them in the activities which they are doing with the help of the youth leaders who will come with them. I’ll be working an eight hour shift every day except Sunday, either 7-3 or 3-11.

These first two weeks are for our orientation. We’re partaking in every activity which we will ever have to lead the kids in as well as receiving teaching on how to lead them and getting to know one another and the city.

The programme is about facilitating the Mission Adventures teams who come and, in that, growing in our own abilities and experiences. I think we’d all agree that we’ve been seriously challenged already and the kids haven’t even arrived yet!

I’m really looking forward to seeing the growth and change in these kids in one week. I’m looking forward to learning how to lead a team in this kind of work, which will be particularly useful to me next year. I’m looking forward to being able to disciple these young folks and see God do amazing things in them. I can’t wait to see their minds blown as they realise the awesomeness of God and the beauty of homeless people. I’m also really looking forward to living and working with my fellow SOS-ers who are already like family.

It’s going to be an amazing summer!

Leave a Reply

