SF2011: 4th of July

My very first celebratory 4th of July (for I think I’ve had approximately 19 regular ones before) was as huge as it would have been had I been in a more “American” city or hadn’t had to work but it certainly was fun.

It kind of began the night before when some of my American friends faced off with our Englishman over when independence was actually granted. There were choruses of Star Spangled Banner and God Save the Queen flying everywhere but I think we decided to let the Yanks have their day in the end.

Once I had finished my shift I went with some staff friends and one of our outreach teams towards Ghiradelli Square and Municipal pier to watch the fireworks over the bay. The band that they had playing were really terrible but ripping it out of them entertained us while we waited for the fireworks to start. They were really very good and we had a great time.

Leave a Reply

